Heart-to-Heart Connection

To inspire and be inspired!

Lost a Friend to AIDS

Four years ago, I lost a dear friend to AIDS. He committed suicide.

I still wonder whether his death was caused by the disease or from the stigma of being gay with AIDS.

Before meeting Mark, I was opposed to gay marriages (the BIBLE states homosexuality is a detestable sin.  Jesus also tells us to hate the sin, not the sinner. If God hated sinners, we’d all be in eternal hell).

But after getting to know Mark, I learned what a hardworking, compassionate individual he was. This man was so kind-hearted, I even tried to set him up with my girlfriend (upon learning his sexual orientation, I tried to hook Mark up with my husband’s best friend’s brother)!

A while back, Mark shared his views on society’s perception of gays.  Not only were gay couples stigmatized, ostracized, and made to feel marginal, they could never legally consummate their relationship as well as have the financial rights as married couples.

Since meeting Mark, I’ve always voted “YES” to gay marriage. I believe in the essence of the BIBLE — hate the sin, not the sinner. I’m just as much a sinner as a homosexual and a murderer (in the same category as Hitler, in God’s eyes).

Stepping out of one’s comfort zone is not easy but necessary; fosters empathy and understanding.

I am eternally grateful to Mark for removing my judgmental attitude toward those who “deviate from the norm” (whatever that means). We’re all humans; all sinners; all screw ups; all equal.

Who are we to judge?

I’ll leave that to God.

January 22, 2009 - Posted by | Attitude, Body, Christianity, Compassion, Education, God, Heart, Introspection, Love, Mind, People, Soul, Spirit | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Azoptimist,

    Sorry to hear this.

    Seeking your prayer for someone in real need of it.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2009/01/23/life-prayers-hope-recovery-happiness/

    Comment by serendipity hopeful | January 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

